The Saint Lucia Potter
The Potscast
The Potscast - Glazes & Glazemaking
0:00
-24:49

The Potscast - Glazes & Glazemaking

With Emily Burkhalter

In this episode, Emily Burkhalter and I discuss how we got into the whole making your own glazes thing.

The conversation does get a bit potterynerdy, but I happily fly my potterynerd flag and say that I loved hearing why Bentonite is in so many glazes, what the heck specific gravity does and why you don’t need to stock whiting AND wollastonite 🤓😁

We both present our arguments in the ‘cones/no cones’ debate and the stains vs oxides question. I’ll leave it up to you to decide what side you fall on. 😁

Emily also gives me an explanation AND solution to the perennial potter’s problem of ‘deadpanning’

It was so great to be able to learn more about glaze making from someone much more advanced in this skill than I.

Callustemily YouTube Channel - click here

Emily’s Bentonite video can be found here

My SCMC video can be found here

Washington Street Studios - click here

Mastering Cone 6 Glazes by John Hesselberth on Amazon here

John Britt book on Amazon - click here

https://glazy.org/

If you would like more glazes/glazemaking episodes, just leave a comment or email me here

Share

0 Comments
The Saint Lucia Potter
The Potscast
This podcast contains the following series
The Potscast - all about Pottery
Being Brave - all about making a huge life change, what I did and how I did it, IN REAL TIME!
*Note* Although not overly sweary, I do drop the occasional F bomb (Sorry, Mum)😳